LOOK FOR THE RAINBOWS

Rainbow and plane

When the world glistens with rain
There is beautiful color in the skies.
You don’t need some technology.
You only need to open your eyes.

Your eyes fill with color
That’s the way it goes;
When it rains don’t cry,
Just look for the rainbows.

The landscape alone is great
The sun shining after a rain.
The rainbow throughout history
Means good times come again.

Sometimes a rainbow
Is not easily found.
But you never will find one
With your eyes to the ground.

When the passersby are grumpy
And just maybe you are too.
It can cheer things up a bit
Adding color to skies of blue.

Your eyes fill with color
That’s the way it goes;
When it rains don’t cry,
Just look for the rainbows.

Sometimes a rainbow
Is not easily found.
But you never will find one
With your eyes to the ground.

8 thoughts on “LOOK FOR THE RAINBOWS

  1. mincs1

    Wonderful poem! I was left smiling when I finished reading it and I am grateful for that. I have had an emotional day and looking for a rainbow is exactly what I needed. Thank-you!

    Reply
  2. kauaiartist Post author

    Hw wonderful! And, as you might have guessed, that is EXACTLY why I wrote this particular piece. It occurred to me people were not spending enough effort to look for he rainbows. Here in Hawaii we have a common phrase: “No rain, no rainbows.”

    Thanks for taking time to say those nice things about my latest poem. On my original blog (http://poetbutknowit.blogspot.com) I have all these poems plus 500 older ones for a total of ONE THOUSAND. Amazing, huh?

    Brent

    Reply
      1. Atomic Words

        Oooh Kincaid! Some of my favorite characters from highlander romance, regency and historical novels have their lairds named Kincaid! Oh so happy to meet you 😄🤓😁😊

  3. kauaiartist Post author

    I noticed that too. I read several of the Diana Gabaldon books, before he format burned me out) and our name shows up a lot. But, in reality, as I understand it, we are not a fine old clan. In fact, we can’t claim a clan at all because…and it seems to be genetic…we screwed EVERYBODY and are therefore a family that is I EVERYBODY’S clan as the black sheep, the horse thieves, the runouts that had to leave the area due to children that should not have been born, etc. That’s just what I hear. Staying true to that reputation, in all the creaky old westerns, Kincaid was the guy that had to get out of town before sundown because the town was not big enough for him and the new sheriff.

    Brent

    Reply

Leave a Reply

