WALLOWING WALLFLOWER

WALLOWING WALLFLOWER

I fear if I start crying
I will not be able to stop.
I know this is the bottom
(But,) I don’t remember the top.
I’m just feeling sorry
For the self I am now.
I want to change for the better
But I don’t really know how.

I looked into my crystal ball
And didn’t see a thing.
No future, only the past
And it was not a good thing
It wasn’t supposed to be like this
When I started on this highway.
It hurts my feeling to know that
It’s because I did things my way.

I’m just feeling sorry
For the self I am now.
I want to change for the better
But I don’t really know how.

I have no one else to blame but me
For the decisions I have made.
If I had to score success so far
I’d give myself a failing grade.
If I could just convince myself
To do something I’d be fine.
But so far all I have managed to do
Is sit around the place and whine.

I fear if I start crying
I will not be able to stop.
I know this is the bottom
(But,) I don’t remember the top.
I’m just feeling sorry
For the self I am now.
I want to change for the better
But I don’t really know how.

4 thoughts on “WALLOWING WALLFLOWER

  1. lottie underwood

    This is so great! The way you’ve managed to give this an almost melody feel with such sad content is amazing. It allows you to feel that the despair is not only bringing them down but also creating something beautiful.

    Reply
    1. kauaiartist Post author

      Oh, bless you, Lottie. It did all that because I lived that way for over a decade and am overjoyed not to be there any more.

      I so appreciate the kind words. They have made my day!

      Brent

      Reply

Leave a Reply

