OH, NATURAL!

OH NATURAL

I don’t like wearing clothing
Unless there is a need to do so.
The minute nobody objects
The garment wearing has to go.
It’s not about being naughty
It’s about comfort and being free.
I really don’t care much if I am
Making other squirm uncomfortably.

You see, since this is America
And I am pursuing my happiness
I really shouldn’t have to put up
With people’s prudish snappiness.
Yes, I know that we were raised
To believe genitals are disgusting.
But that is wrong and the first rule
That I am here to aid in busting.

Okay, I grant that some of us
Are not all that pretty when nude.
But that doesn’t give anybody
A license to be so damn rude.
Can’t you just pretend she is
Wearing a less than pretty dress?
Wouldn’t you be polite to her then?
Come on. Own up to it. Confess!

It all has to do with parenting
And living by society’s dictates.
This is where bigotry comes from;
Name calling, bullying and hate.
Different people have different beliefs;
A different set of ears, eyes and nose.
And different people have other ideas
About what and when to wear clothes.

(Image is from: relearningloveliness.wordpress.com)

 

34 thoughts on “OH, NATURAL!

  1. kauaiartist Post author

    Thank you! That is EXACTLY the response I was hoping for and the reason I wrote this piece in the first place. I am so glad to read your review!

    Brent Kincaid, WordMusic

    Reply
    1. kauaiartist Post author

      Thank you! I am trying to change the world one poem at a time. I mean everybody that knows me knows I live naked, but this way maybe hundreds of total strangers will ask themselves, “Why don’t I live naked, too?”

      Reply
  2. sassycoupleok

    Oh this is so true. To carry it a step further my husband and I have been seen or caught nude on several occasions by friends, neighbors and family. When it’s just be me and not my husband too, hardly a word has been said other than “oh sorry or oh my you look wonderful”. However when he has been present with me or by himself several have complained by saying to him or me in private, “would you please tell him to put some pants on, we don’t want to see that” ! How have we come to the point of seeing the male penis in a non sexual situation as being unacceptable ?! I feel it’s insulting and feel for men that their nudity is unacceptable but mine is OK !

    Ms. K

    Reply
    1. kauaiartist Post author

      First, thank you for this wonderful review! I cherish it. Second, it may come as no surprise to you, but most of the prudery in our common attitude about nudity comes from women. I have been watching over the decades and see it much more prevalent and insulting, and sadly, female. The men don’t care as much maybe as a result of gym class, or military service, or maybe because heterosexual men don’t really associate naked men with sex? Who knows? But, I have seen SO many women in teeny, tiny bikinis bitching about men in speedos or thongs saying EXACTLY what your neighbor said. “We don’t want to see THAT!” The male bulge is dirty and the female three bulges are sexy? It’s all bad programming.

      Reply
      1. sassycoupleok

        Yes it would appear you are correct. Plus the women are also always concerned about the kids. Kids are the most natural nudist of all, we have experienced it many times at our resort and with they grand kids, they love nudity and think nothing of it.

        Ms K

      2. kauaiartist Post author

        Yes! Parents have to TEACH the kids body shame or they have none. It’s one thing to teach children to beware of and how to handle predators. It’s quite another to TRAIN them to be afraid of their own reflections in the mirror on the way to the shower.

        Brent

    1. kauaiartist Post author

      It has never been my lifelong goal to urge others to get naked, but it is a common utterance from me. As the poem says, I know it is the best way to live, and in that way, people know they can count on me to not only be naked, have no body shame, but to be a source of information about living naturally. Now, I have added poetry to that philosophy and it may make more difference than all my stumping for the cause. Especially with wonderful people like you helping.

      So, when are you coming to Kauai?

      Brent.

      Reply
  3. finnwest2015

    Yes I would like to completely agree with Sassycouple. Kids are the most natural nudists.
    It is the responsibility of parents to always encourage children to be naked and therefore not fall victim to the disease of body shame.
    A nudist as a kid becomes a healthy adult free of body shame and more accepting of others.
    Let’s encourage the next generation to get naked, and not believe this rubbish from modern media saying it is wrong.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: OH, NATURAL! | Nomad, Geek, Nudie

  5. kauaiartist Post author

    Thank you both for these wonderful comments. As usual, Finn, you are a wonderful compatriot in this battle with normal society and it’s ignorance of reality. And, Sassycouple, you are a brand new breath of fresh air in my poetic life!

    Brent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

