CHURCHY LURCHY

churchy lurchy

You quote from Leviticus
Call me an abomination
As you eat cheeseburgers
And claim a Christian nation.
You don’t murder daughters
Who have had unmarried love
Yet, demonizing gay people
Fits you like an expensive glove.

You vilify your children daily
And quote the bible to boot,
While you work on the Sabbath
In your fine mixed-fabric suit.
You talk so glibly about us
Out of both sides of your mouth.
You are embarrassing examples
Of the sickness of the Old South.

You just ain’t right.
Your head’s on wrong.
Your hypocritical ravings
Are the cause of this song.
You’re a liar and a nut
And you’re halfway crazy.
We’d make laws against you
But we’re too damn lazy.

You wave your hands and pray
In public so you are well seen.
You copy your Christianity
From the latest People magazine.
Your idea of pious philosophy
Is way off the Christian track.
If I ever shake hands with you
I’ll count the fingers I get back.

You just ain’t right.
Your head’s on wrong.
Your hypocritical ravings
Are the cause of this song.
You’re a liar and a nut
And you’re halfway crazy.
We’d make laws against you
But we’re too damn lazy.

6 thoughts on “CHURCHY LURCHY

    1. kauaiartist Post author

      With great pleasure. Them churchy folk taught me how to testify. I just skip the going out and acting like heathen part most of them are so good at. Thanks for the nice comment.

      Reply
  1. kauaiartist Post author

    Thank you, Finn. This is a story about many members of my own family and thousand of other people around whom I spent life until I could run away to L.A. in 1967.

    Brent XXXX

    Reply
    1. kauaiartist Post author

      I’m not sure if I should reply, so let me couch it carefully. If you found my poem informative, I thank you and wish I could do that every time.

      Brent Kincaid, WordMusic.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

