OPEN MICROPHONE

OPEN MIC

OPEN MICROPHONE

I took the stage quite proudly

The audience shouted loudly

“Sit down and shut your face!”

I know my voice is delightful

But these people are frightful

So, I left the stage in disgrace.

 

There was a deputation

Based on my reputation

That came to run me away.

They were a congregation

Fueled by common irritation

That bade me not to stay.

 

What can you do

With people who have taste

But regret at my leisure

And disappear at haste?

It’s not about agreement

More about concealment

When they attack your porch

With every villager coming

Their angry voices humming

And each one has a torch.

 

Not my responsibility

To question credibility

With my back against the wall.

With fear as a motivator

I will argue issues later

To stay makes no sense at all.

 

I know I am a superstar

But words can only go so far

When folks pitch vegetables at me.

So, I might best perform

Where it doesn’t cause a storm

Of people to come and lynch me.

 

What can you do

With people who have taste

But regret at my leisure

And disappear at haste?

It’s not about agreement

More about concealment

When they attack your porch

With every villager coming

Their angry voices humming

And each one has a torch.

 

Brent Kincaid

2/23/2015

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

