HUG ME

hug me2

HUG ME

The young man stood blindfolded,

On the street, arms open wide

And enclosed the passersby

Generously, warmly, inside.

He had a sign that said

I trust you, do you trust me?

And last thing is said is

In bold letters, hug me.

 

Hundreds did so, strangers all

And embraced the lad

And some did it twice, honestly

And walked away glad

To have been there that day

To see this rare sight

Of strangers hugging a stranger.

It seemed so very right.

 

It brought a tear to my eye

That I could not explain.

The sight raised in me

A rather exquisite pain

That the world can’t be

More like this every day.

What a great world it would be

To run on precisely this way.

 

It was a quiet demonstration

That hope is not totally lost

That love is still out there

Not bought off by costs

And strangers have compassion

And enough that they share.

I am so glad that boy stood

That day, that way, out there.

 

Brent Kincaid

2/16/2015

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “HUG ME

    1. kauaiartist Post author

      I am so glad to hear that. It had the same effect on me. If I didn’t send you this, forgive. If I did and it is a duplication, forgive again? I found this brought a tear to my eye.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: HUG ME | Ramblin' Round

Leave a Reply

