MY PLACE

 

my place

MY PLACE

Black people cry out

Don’t do this to me!

You need to treat me

With true equality.

Womankind cry out,

Look at us and see.

We’re wives and mothers;

We demand equality.

Gay people cry out

We’re all humanity.

There is no real difference

Between you and me.

 

You tell me to stay in my place.

And I face your slamming doors

Well, mister this is my place

Just as much as it is yours.

 

You have had your way

These hundreds of years.

You built your Old Boy’s Club

On a network of your fears.

You told us who was worthy

And which would be the slave.

You chose which goes to heaven

And who your god would save.

You looked around you blindly

And played atrocity games,

And you perpetrated horror

On brothers in god’s name.

 

You tell me to stay in my place.

And I face your slamming doors

Well, mister this is my place

Just as much as it is yours.

 

Listen to me closely

My sisters and my brothers,

We all suffered long enough

Being looked at as others;

Something apart from acceptable,

Something less than godly.

We have been called names

Like less than human oddities.

But what we are is people

In a land where we are free.

We don’t have to settle for

A pretense at equality.

 

You tell me to stay in my place.

And I face your slamming doors

Well, mister this is my place

Just as much as it is yours.

 

Brent Kincaid

1/31/2015

(Image is from: randykrafft4equality.wordpress.com)

 

 

Leave a Reply

