BORSCHT BELT

BORSCHT

THE BORSCH BELT

Irving Schmecky and the Petzels.

I feared their name would cost them.

Still, they had a little local fame

But, can you imagine the costumes?

 

My act came on right before

Irving and the boys came out.

I was to warm them up a bit

But I had a smidgen of doubt.

I really didn’t have much more

Than a few stale jokes to tell.

I would deliver my old groaners

And then duck and run like hell.

 

I often thought it would have worked

If I had gone on stage totally nude.

I could have charged to ‘put it on’

But I feared it might seem rude.

So, instead, I told jokes and sang

And let the hecklers heckle.

It made ironic sense to me

To go out and act like a schmeckle.

 

Irving Schmecky and the Petzels.

Came on and did their own schtick.

Who would have thought it would sell?

Five guys named after a prick!

 

I recall one night a guy yelled

“Come give my putz a kiss!”

I giggle and pointed at him and said

“What do you think this is, a briss?”

From that night on, I got respect

And I got to sing more songs.

Sometimes I even changed the words

But the audience still sang along.

 

Irving Schmecky and the Petzels.

I feared their name would cost them.

Still, they had a little local fame

But, can you imagine the costumes?

 

Brent Kincaid

1/20/2015

 

Leave a Reply

