WANDERER

WANDERER

THE WANDERER

Once I was a wanderer
Without a constant home.
I went from sunny Florida
To Anchorage and Nome.
From Bangor Maine in summer,
In Denver it was the fall.
I made it to every state
And learned to love them all.

Wanderer and wonderer,
Like some old army scout,
Wandering and wondering
What life is all about.
Rolling like a tumbleweed
In the blowing winds of time;
Singing gently to myself
My own handmade rhymes.

I walked in fields and snowdrifts
And in the desert wastes.
Every kind of climate has
Something for my taste;
The wildflower blankets
That pop up from the rain,
The distant purple mountains
That circle past the plains.

Wanderer and wonderer,
Like some old army scout,
Wandering and wondering
What life is all about.
Rolling like a tumbleweed
In the blowing winds of time;
Singing gently to myself
My own handmade rhymes.

Brent Kincaid
12/30/2014

3 thoughts on “WANDERER

  1. irtfyblog

    As a read this, I was reminded of the beginning of the ‘Man of Steel’ movie where Clark Kent is roaming from one place to another searching for his identity. Wandering and wondering…something we all do from time to time in this journey we call life.

    Reply
    1. kauaiartist Post author

      What a lovely comment! My hope is always to stimulate memories or dreams when my poetry is read. Thank you for letting me know I scored a direct hit!

      Brent Kincaid

      Reply

Leave a Reply

