LONELY ROAD

LONELY ROAD

LONELY ROAD

I wandered the lonely road

Like it was the only road.

I called out to nobody there.

I called out but nobody cared.

 

The echoes sometimes call

From no memory at all.

Nobody ever felt the pain

That caused this refrain;

A sound that startles me

Somehow it shames me.

Often it blames me.

 

I don’t understand the reason

There can be time without season,

Leaves fall without any tree.

Voices heard but only by me.

Is this only my imagination

Or some kind of hallucination?

 

I wandered the lonely road

Like it was the only road.

I called out to nobody there.

I called out but nobody cared.

 

Is this something the lonely do?

Is this what the solitary go through?

Do all loners dance to a ditty

Dictated and orchestrated by pity?

Is being single a kind of madness

Brought on by descent into sadness

Where one is never told

That they have lost their hold?

 

The is a kind of sad magic

That makes clowns of the tragic

And paints impressive hues

On the excuses I use

To try to mask the crippling pain;

Of swirling around the drain.

It’s not until the last bubble

That I know I am in trouble.

 

I wandered the lonely road

Like it was the only road.

I called out to nobody there.

I called out but nobody cared.

 

Brent Kincaid

11/26/2014

 

(Image from everystockphoto.com)

 

(Image by everystockphoto.com)

Leave a Reply

