SCHOOL’S OUT

SCHOOL'S  OUT

SCHOOL’S OUT

I’m riding my hobby horse
Over to where you live
I have a full afternoon
Of fun and playing to give.
We could go on the merry go round
And make like we are the moon
Zipping around the sun in space.
I am so glad it is June.

I’ve been waiting all year long
To feel the warm sun on my head.
School was over just yesterday
And today I could not stay in bed.
I gulped down my cereal and I ran
Out of the door to the street.
For a few moments on the way
It felt I had wings on my feet.

I’m riding my hobby horse
Over to where you live
I have a full afternoon
Of fun and playing to give.

The school ground is perfect for basketball
But I don’t want to see that right now.
I think we should build a rocket ship
And I think I know exactly how.
But we have all summer to gather stuff
To build ourselves whatever we want.
And there are acres of wilderness
Close by for the two of us to haunt.

We could go on the merry go round
And make like we are the moon
Zipping around the sun in space.
I am so glad it is June.

Then when it’s lunchtime we can go
Back to your house for our lunch.
Your mother makes us pizza rolls
And I know we can both each a bunch.
Then we can wait for the ice cream man
He’ll come in his funny looking truck.
You’ll get a bomb pop like you always do
And I’ll get a drumstick with luck.

I’m riding my hobby horse
Over to where you live
I have a full afternoon
Of fun and playing to give.
We could go on the merry go round
And make like we are the moon
Zipping around the sun in space.
I am so glad it is June.

Brent Kincaid
10/18/2014

(Image from: gramsmadeit.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

