WHIRLIGIG

WHIRLIGIG

WHIRLIGIG

You go all whirligig on me, baby.
You spin out of control.
You can’t get over it maybe.
But it crushes my soul.
You caught me up big time
In the vortex of your spin.
When I think you are slowing
You start up all over again.

Maybe I thought it was attractive.
You always seemed to be on.
You were always up for the party
Even after the guests had gone.
And there I was, a tiny bit shy
Hanging on to my first drink.
And you were ebullient and shining
What else was I to think?

Life seemed much like a dance to you,
Whether there was music or not.
You seemed to be comfortable with all.
I stayed in the background a lot.
It seemed like everyone liked you;
Your list of friends was quite long.
But sometimes it was a struggle
To keep up and follow along.

You go all whirligig on me, baby.
You spin out of control.
You can’t get over it maybe.
But it crushes my soul.
You caught me up big time
In the vortex of your spin.
When I think you are slowing
You start up all over again.

Later I realized what was wrong with me
And why I so often did not fit.
I never moved fast enough to talk to you.
It was almost like you would never sit.
Some people liked to call you a butterfly,
I thought a humming bird a better word.
That two hundred mile an hour wing work
Made you more like that busy little bird.

Whirligig you’re taking the joy from life.
You don’t seem to come down to earth.
I doubt you even know if I am around
Or have any clue what I am worth.
This isn’t a relationship we are having.
It’s more like you’re a passing train.
I only get to look into your windows
And suddenly you’re off once again.

You go all whirligig on me, baby.
You spin out of control.
You can’t get over it maybe.
But it crushes my soul.
You caught me up big time
In the vortex of your spin.
When I think you are slowing
You start up all over again.

Brent Kincaid
10/15/2014

Leave a Reply

