WHERE IS MY WOMAN?

WHERE IS MY WOMAN

WHERE IS MY WOMAN?

Once I said “I’ve had enough,
No more love for me!’
Found myself a perfect girl
Who found herself in me.
She was someone faithful to me,
Happy with what I’d provide.
Withering when I would leave
Pushing all the world aside.

Where is my woman?
Where did she go?
Where is my woman?
I want to know!
Where is my woman?
Where can she be?
Whatever made her
Want to do this to me?

I gave up quite a lot to please her
Half of which she never knew
Put her in a modern kitchen
Made her life a dream come true.
First she called the city crowded
Then she sang the suburb blues.
She was like a different woman
Sitting watching TV news.

Where is my woman?
Where did she go?
Where is my woman?
I want to know!
Where is my woman?
Where can she be?
Whatever made her
Want to do this to me?

She changed when she took up yoga,
Maybe it’s the exercise.
Somehow she was looking younger
Somehow twice as wise.
She would talk of truth and freedom
Like the her I used to know.
I came home to empty hallways
Only know I miss her so.

Where is my woman?
Where did she go?
Where is my woman?
I want to know!
Where is my woman?
Where can she be?
Whatever made her
Want to do this to me?

Brent Kincaid
8/28/76

Leave a Reply

