SOCIAL BUTTERFLY

Social Butterfly

 

SOCIAL BUTTERFLY

 I really, really meant

To tell a bunch of lies

About what a wealthy person I am.

How I use a dollar bill

To light my fine cigars

And I got myself rich with an internet scam.

I had a lengthy list

Of stuff I never owned

Like a villa on the beach in San Trope.

So absolutely flush

I could walk down the street

With blue ribbon stocks I could throw away.

But, I don’t; I just don’t.

There’s not a single thing I can say I own

But my skin and my hair;

Everything else is way up in the air.

I’m broke, it’s no joke

I find my way through life on charm alone.

I make my way around

Not looking like a bum

Because I dress in thrift store chic.

I stay high and dry

Even though I sold

My paddle before I went up the creek.

I party with the best

And skip all the rest

And never feel the need to turn to crime.

I rise when I want

And know just when to haunt

My friends houses just around dinner time.

But, I’m broke, I’m flat broke;

There’s not a single thing I can say I own.

But my skin and my hair;

Everything else is way up in the air.

I’m broke, it’s no joke

I find my way through life on charm alone.

Some times it’s quite fun

But I sleep where I can

I don’t have the internet or a telephone.

I’m quite the bon vivant

Full of jokes and tales

But life is a financial twilight zone.

I’ll smoke your dope

And drink your booze

And help you entertain all of your friends.

But come up with a dime

To pay for anything

That is where the floor show ends.

But, I’m broke, I’m flat broke;

There’s not a single thing I can say I own.

But my skin and my hair;

Everything else is way up in the air.

I’m broke, it’s no joke

I find my way through life on charm alone.

.

Brent Kincaid

4/29/2013

Leave a Reply

